Tags

, , , , ,

Well, it’s the last weekday of the month, which means that for the most part my goal-setting days for September are coming to a close. My original intent was not to make a post about my progress, but I do think it right to touch on all of that before I get to anything else. SO~

Concerning weight-loss, I’ve maintained the 17 pounds lost, which, if I really was losing water weight at the beginning of the month, I take to mean that my body caught up through the rest of the month and started losing… weight weight. On the downside, exercise was the thing I was least consistent with all month. I did a bit of walking, but I never stuck to a schedule, and I rarely broke a sweat. As part of next month’s goals, I think I’m going to attempt a certain amount of steps per day. I have a pedometer collecting dust in a jewelry box, and it’s time I put it to good use. On the upside, I’ve cooked lots of new dishes this month to avoid getting into a food routine (a quick route for me to binging on exciting, different, peanut-butter-slathered menu items). Japanese dishes (ninjin shirishiri, scrambled egg & tomato rice bowl – which I subbed for my first ever tomatillos; WOW), French-Italian fusion (ratatouille pizza), imitation junk food (low-cal buffalo wings and garlic fries – which by the way are even better using carrots). Yesterday, in honor of the changing seasons, I made my first official “bowl of red” from scratch – chili! I’d link to a recipe, but it was highly improvised and hermagersh tasty. Great successes all around! -Though I think maybe my stomach has made it clear to me to GO EASY on all things buffalo wing…

Yesterday afternoon marked the finishing of my writing goal with my story, Kitty Wuggles. I couldn’t be happier to see it coming along. In only fifteen pages, it’s taken a couple of turns I had not anticipated, which just might be my favorite part of the whole process. I even had a moment of teary-eyes. I always take this as a good sign – the story is getting to me as much as I’m getting to it. I plan to pull back on the number of pages for next month; I want to dedicate more time to editing my friend’s manuscript. Three months may look like a lot of time to work on it, but it’ll be December before I know it.

I said all of James 1 aloud successfully in the shower yesterday evening. An interesting experience, especially when my usual inclination in the shower is to belt out Chaka Khan. It’s amazing the level of understanding memorization brings (I suppose that goes without saying, but with me, everything seems to need to be said), even on a grammatically structured level. You start to notice clearer patterns in the imagery; scripture just seems sharper. I’d like to say the whole thing a couple more times today and make sure I’ve got it down.

This month, the Lord has shone light onto things in my life I had no idea even existed, deep-rooted reasons behind bad habits and struggles… I’d explain further, but I’m just not ready to be that personal in a blog. My most fervent prayer right now is that of Ephesians 3:16-19 – that the Lord would grant me, according the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in my heart through faith; and that I, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses all knowledge, that I may be filled up to all the fullness of God.

If I know just how He loves, how much more will I be able to love Him back?

